Getting My Poop in a Group

Posted: April 18, 2012 in Travel
Tags: , ,

The thing about packing up a trailer for a three-week adventure when you’ve never actually done any sort of RVing before, is that you (and by “you,” I mean “I”) don’t have a freakin’ clue what you’re doing!  RV people are more than thrilled to dish up advice on such things, though.  They’ll tell you stuff like “Don’t forget to get a set of walkie-talkies so you can cram your giant trailer into a minuscule campsite using only the power of your voice,” but they tend to leave out actual useful information, like “pack underwear” or “don’t forget the salt and pepper.”

In point of fact, it’s been years since I’ve done anything even remotely resembling camping.  There’s actually a really good reason for that:  Camping sucks.  It didn’t always suck.  There was a time when I was able to happily sleep on the ground in a soggy sleeping bag without so much as a grumble.  That was way back when I was young enough that it wasn’t physically excruciating to do such things.  Hell, I could have slept on a clothesline back then.  Those days are long, long gone, as is my tolerance for such things as mosquito bites and flaming marshmallows in my hair (don’t ask).  I’ve done my time as a camper.  At least, I thought I had.

You might be inclined to argue that sleeping in a 25-foot, well-equipped trailer isn’t quite the same as lying in a rumpled, rain-soaked tent praying to be struck by lightning, and I suppose you’d be within your rights to think so.  As far as I’m concerned, the jury’s still out on that one.  At least the odds of being eaten by a bear are somewhat reduced, and that’s a plus, right?  HAH!  Just when you thought my rampant negativity wouldn’t allow for a bright side!  Pfft!

So, here we are:  Three sleeps to go and a world of disorganization staring me in the face.  I’ve remembered to pack sheets and towels and toilet paper, salt and pepper, underwear, and sunscreen.  Am I forgetting anything?  You bet your furry derriere I am!  Do I know what it is?  Not a clue.  Wish me luck!

Comments
  1. DouglasMB says:

    What ever you forget… I will laugh with you about it later 🙂 no worries 🙂 you know I luv you….

    BIRD CANNON!!!!

  2. Flashlight
    Insect repellant
    Snake bite kit
    Beads for trading
    Jerky
    The remote
    Bubble bath beads

  3. Reclussive says:

    I know what you’re forgetting…you’re forgetting the divorce lawyer..always handy on such trips..if not that guy then the marriage counselor..set him up a little place in the back….and wedded bliss all the way….cause if i had to spend that much time my other in those quarters for long periods of time..we’d at least need a referee.. 🙂 :)….no but seriously…you had about it all covered with toilet paper……Camping sucks….hahaha….laughed at that line…..and you know what I am going to say..yep you got it..I like camping………;P

Leave a Reply

