Making the Best of the Soggy Weather and a Minor Set-back

Posted: June 5, 2012 in Photography, RV, Travel
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

We’re still camped out in Freeport, Maine.  Touch wood, I think it’s finally stopped raining but we’re still under flood warnings.  Here’s a shot from yesterday of the Androscoggin River to show you why:

We figured we could either hole up and wait out the weather or damn the umbrellies and get out there and see what we came all this way to see.  The biggest challenge was keeping the cameras dry.  When I wasn’t holding the umbrella in my teeth to shoot, Bob was holding it for me and muttering colourful expletives.  I love that man.

These were shot out on Bailey Island, which is just a gorgeous spot that you can drive to along a seriously scenic causeway.  It was really cold and wet, but so so beautiful.

Around noon or so, we went to a wonderful restaurant for lunch called Cook’s Lobster House to sample the local wares (but mostly to get warm.)  The food was amazing!  When we first arrived, I told Bob I was gonna photog our food like I’ve seen other travel bloggers do.  I thought it would be awesome to have shots of us grinning at our fish and scallops and whatnot to remember the meal and the day.  I got as far as the (“award-winning!!”) coleslaw.   When the actual food arrived, we pounced on it like a pack of piranha and completely forgot about the camera.

(Best coleslaw I’ve ever eaten.  Seriously.)

Speaking of lunch, Bob said I shouldn’t post this shot cuz it would gross you out, but I told him that it was my vision of the turbulent nature of life (eyeroll) and that you guys would get that:

That’s the biggest fargin’ gull I’ve ever seen in my life!  I looked it up and it’s called a Great Black-backed Gull.  They weigh in at just under FOUR pounds!!  That’s twice the size of most hawks and about three times the size of a Herring Gull (the one’s most often seen at the coasts)!  I swear I thought it looked as big as a bald eagle in flight.  In fact, at first glance, I thought it was a bald eagle.  I purposely chose a shot that doesn’t quite show you what he’s eating (close your eyes for a sec if you don’t wanna know….it’s a baby eider duck)  Please don’t tell Bob I showed you that shot.

Oh, the minor set-back:  Apparently the wiring for the hot water heater has zorched itself.  We’re going to have to back-track to a place called Lebanon, Maine which has the closest Airstream dealership.  Bummer, eh?  We were supposed to hit Bar Harbour this morning.  Bogus.  I’m just glad that the wires burnt themselves up but left the rest of the trailer alone.

A few other rainy day shots before we hit the road:

Later, taters!

Comments
  1. Oh, how I miss water… plenty of sand where I live. No water. You showed it in so many forms. Lovely. -Renee

  2. candy says:

    Looks cold…but beautiful in its own way! Love the shot of the chairs. Hopefully, the weather will improve for you!!

  3. You make damp look nice.

  4. wumby says:

    Love the pics. The gull one especially. Bob thinks your friends are wimps. Not me. I almost have had a Turkey hood ornament yesterday and today it was a Turkey Vulture. I had to toot my horn to divert it off course or we surley would have met. Scared the shhhiiiitttt out of him in doing so. Swamp news. Saw the cranes ambling through the swamp up close and personal on their way back from the field beside the tower field where I have said there is water at the back of it. If the cars don’t slow down there someone will be wearing a Sandhill Crane hood ornament.

  5. Shari says:

    Wow, remember the sand…and dust? Must say Mother Nature is being a bitch to you this time. So are you still going whaling etc.?

    • nomaddness says:

      Nah…the whaling if off for now. I spoke to a woman who’d just got off the boat from the ww tour. She said they saw nuffin’ – no whales in the area at all. Rats.

  6. Shari says:

    Those chairs must be naughty ones they have them locked up.

  7. Potatoepete says:

    Love your post of our area and thanks for the mention of Cook’s Lobster House.

Leave a Reply

