Weather or Not…

Posted: March 27, 2013 in Photography, RV, Travel

You’ll be astonished, I’m sure, to learn that we slept non-well on the frozen plank.  It always takes a bit of adjustment to go from a king size bed down to what is technically a “modified queen.”  Moreso if said queen is frozen solid.   To make matters worse, Bob’s half has a nice bulkhead above it which we affectionately call The Widowmaker.  We call it that because if he knocks himself silly on it enough times and starts drooling and being (ahem) challenged, I’ma kill ‘im.  (I suppose I should insert here that I’m just kidding, you know, hahaha and all that, in case that statement ever comes back to haunt me (in court).)

Anyhoo, rough night.  Grumpy morning.

We set out for Alabama (“Surely it’s warm there…”)

Just as we left the campground in Whereverwewere, KY, it started to snow.  This, of course, struck a degree of terror to our hearts because we had only the day before leaving home switched to the summer tires on the Edge.  We didn’t want to look like the only knobs in Florida with snow tires on.  It’s bad enough having to explain to people that yep, it’s a 25-foot trailer and yep, we do in fact pull it with that thing.

So, it snowed.  Not enough to be a big deal, just enough to raise the heart rate a little.  I can’t really imagine jack-knifing being much fun.

After a while, the snow turned to freezing rain.  If you live somewhere warm, you need to know that there are things that are worse than snow.  Freezing rain is one of them.  Because I’m the non-worry-wart of our team, I stuck my nose in a book and left the panicking to Bobert.

Around 2:00 in the afternoon, the sky went very, very dark.

HailR

I looked over at Bob and said, “That’s probably not good, huh?”  I could see the whites of his eyes.  He said, “I think it’s gonna…”  THUNK!!!

A chunk of ice the size of my head (I’m totally exaggerating) dinked off of the hood, then the windshield.  Then there was that long pause that happens usually in scary movies just before something really bad happens.  Up ahead, we could see all sorts of cars cramming themselves to the side of the road under an overpass.  “Huh,” I said, “isn’t that what they do when a tornado is coming?”

That’s one of those Outside Brain thoughts that should not be spoken aloud.  I had no time for regret, however, because the aforementioned pause was rapidly coming to an end.

As we whooshed past all of those (much smarter) people under that underpass, the army of the Ice Kingdom launched the beef of its attack.  For the next several minutes, we were literally pounded with hail while Bob screamed, “Nooooo!  My trailerrrrrr!!!”

Hail 3R

I don’t know if you can begin to imagine the sound that quarter-sized chunks of ice falling from a great height make when they hit 25 feet of rolling aluminum, but I’m here to tell you it was mighty impressive (screaming notwithstanding).  It became so intense that we had to pull over and just wait it out.  While Bob was sobbing into his hands (I made that up), I was mentally reviewing our vehicle and trailer insurance policies (that part is true).  Then I made another Outside Brain faux pas.  I said, “I wonder how the skylight is holding up….”  (You’d almost think that my sole purpose in life is to torment that poor man, wouldn’t you?)

Hail (1)R

By the time we pulled in to the campground in Cullman, Alabama, we’d driven through snow, sleet, freezing rain, hail, high wind, fog, sunshine, and zero-viz rain.  We’d experienced every possible sort of weather except the one which we don’t speak of whilst camped in a trailer park.

Comments
  1. Shari says:

    You call this extreme vacationing I gather!

  2. Shari says:

    Thanks for the pictures

  3. rlogan1155 says:

    Your story is why we are not leaving for another two weeks and then not planning on getting back to Canada till the end of April.
    Ruth from At Home on the Road

  4. E says:

    Yep, making me wanna go ummmmmm. No where! You guys just be safe….

Leave a Reply

