Flipping the Bird

Posted: April 1, 2013 in Birds, Florida, Photography, RV, Travel, Wildlife
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Okay, Okay, I know I’ve been sorta carried away with the bird photogs, but seriously, there is just such a smorgasbord of birds in this place!  It’s pretty mind-blowing.  Every day we are seeing things we’ve never seen before.   I promise I’ll try to shoot something non-birdular tomorrow, okay?  But, in the meantime…. (oh, don’t look at me like that)…

Anhinga AR

In other non-bird news, we sort of saw some manatees today.  I say “sort of” because we mostly just heard them coming up for air.  Bob saw a nose.  I saw nuffin’.  Well, no, that’s not entirely true.  I saw some bubbles.  Still, it was pretty cool. If we could just persuade them to swim in nice clear water so I could get some photogs, that’d be good.  Sigh.

I know you don’t particularly care about my bird buddies, but that one up there is called an Anhinga.  These guys are really interesting because they swim in a weird way.  The body is submerged with just the head and neck above the water.  The first time I saw one I thought it was a snake.  I think I read somewhere that it has to do with their bone density.  I have no idea.  They can apparently only stay submerged for so long until they have to climb out of the water and dry their feathers.  That’s what he’s up to in this photog.

The Great Blue Heron in this next shot was having a heck of a time with whatever that long skinny fishy thing is in his mouth.  It was thrashing to beat the band.  I was so intent on watching him that I didn’t notice the Little Blue Heron in the background until I was uploading my photogs.

Great Blue Heron and Little Blue HeronBR

No, don’t leave!  Just one more!!  No birds tomorrow – I promise!!  (What?  My fingers are what?!  Pfft!)

Kingfisher on a palm tree:

KingfisherBR

We had a wonderful Easter Dinner today with our very dear friends Whatsisname and The Missus.  Excellent food; excellent company.  And maybe just a couple of Easter eggs.  I’ll have a good waddle around tomorrow to make up for it.  Hey, maybe we’ll find some birds!!  🙂

Comments
  1. You can post all the pics of birds you want for this birder. Nice shot of the two blues.

    Bruce

  2. nomaddness says:

    Thanks, Bruce, I’ll do that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

