Nine Days of Newfoundland – Day 9

Posted: July 21, 2013 in Newfoundland, Photography, RV, Tourism, Travel
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I’m not sure whether to call this a pause for dramatic effect, or just plain laziness.  Ah, who’m I kidding?  It’s not really all that dramatic, is it.

As I mentioned so long ago on Day 8, our destination was a spot called South Brook.  I think I called it “Point F” on that map that I’m so over now.  And, between you and I, calling it Point F makes a good deal more sense than calling it South anything if you consider how far north it is.  Speaking of not making much sense, the campground was (and in all likelihood still is) called Kona Beach which I thought sounded sort of Hawaiian, but does this look like Hawaii to you? Hmmm?

PT1 and PT2 at Kona BeachThat’s Bob indulging his pyromaniac tendencies, and Shari ordering more beer.

We packed up early on the ninth day of our journey and headed back to the same spot we camped on our first night in Newfieland, Grand Codroy in Doyles.  Once we’d dumped off the trailer, we set about exploring.  It was our last day and we wanted to make the most of it.

Now, I don’t know if you know this about me or not, but I really like lighthouses. Not quite as much as I like puffins (or bacon) but I find them sort of extremely interesting.  Our TRT (Trip Research Technician…okay, Bob) had located a couple more lighthouses for us to look for.  I say “look for” because sometimes they hide them really well.  I’m not sure how doing that is helpful to boats and such, but there you have it.  Hidden secret lighthouses.  Don’t say I didn’t warn ya about doze wacky Newfies, eh?

This first one, called the Cape Anguille Lighthouse, is also a fog horn station.  The weird rusty thing is apparently the fog horn.  Looks a bit dodgy to me.  There’s a little sign advising against standing in front of it.  I’d imagine there’d be a risk of an interesting hairdo at the very least.

SDSC_0081R

 

SDSC_0086R

The second lighthouse required a lot of driving and a fair bit of hiking, but it was entirely worth it.  But hang on a second – I’m getting ahead of myself.  I know, I know, how unlike me.

On the way back from the Cape Anguille Lighthouse, we saw some interesting things, not the least of which (okay, maybe it was the least…) was a herd of free-range sheep. Free-range Newfie-style means let’s-put-em-on-da-road-n-see-what-happens (the tourists will think it’s quaint). Um…no. The aforementioned tourists nearly had a mutton hood ornament.

JDSC_0386ARHere are a few of the other cool things we saw:

That shot of what looks like a box of rocks with birdhouses on it is an example of how Newfies put up their telephone poles. Because the island is basically just a giant slab of rock, you can’t just dig a hole and cram the pole into it. So, the box of rocks is what you’d call the holder-upper (technical term).

I think I’m finally ready to tell you about the second lighthouse.  I have no doubt the anticipation is getting out of hand by now.  We decided that even though our time was short and the trip to the Rose Blanche Lighthouse would be a longish drive, we’d go for it anyway.  But, uh-oh!  What’s that up there on the road?  Can it be?

SDSC_0070AR

The last part of the last day and now they bust out the moose?  I just hate it when my conspiracy theories fall apart.  

JDSC_0323AOkay, okay, I admit it:  I was (ahem) wrong about the moose thing.  Sue me.  Now, let’s just get over it and get out to Rose Blanche Lighthouse, cuz this one, my friends, is a real show-stopper.  I’ll just say two words and then let you enjoy: Solid. Granite.

Rose Blanche Lighthouse B1R

 

I’m sure I’ve missed some bits and pieces, so I’ll sweep it all into a bucket and do an “oops” post in a few days. Then, if the weeds in my garden will just bloody well stop growing, I’ll tell you what we saw on the way home.

 

 

Comments
  1. Wonderful series of photo and great story. Absolutely love the rose blanche lighthouse!

  2. Jean says:

    Lucky you..I still haven’t seen a live moose…except outside of Montreal. Yea, you heard me. It was really weird near the train.

    • nomaddness says:

      They’re definitely high on the beauty scale, Jean, but it’s a weird thrill seeing one. 🙂

    • home, garden, life says:

      I rode up on one on horseback one summer in Wyoming. It even had a calf and I was lucky to not get charged. Fortunately the stallion I was riding stopped in his tracks and froze until mama moose strolled by. The wonders of the wild…

  3. Great post. Lovely pics. Fantastic you had the camera to hand when the moose ran in front of your car. Especially like the photo of the granite lighthouse with the wiggly fence. Is that wind damage or did the Newfies mean it to look like that?

  4. Kate Sparkes says:

    Ooh, I have to see that lighthouse some day! Love the moose pics, too. Weird looking critters. 🙂

  5. christophercurmudgeon says:

    I’ve always wanted a job as a lighthouse keeper. I’ve never even seen one up close though.

  6. noreia says:

    Just stumbled upon this, and can’t wait to go back and read the rest of this adventure. Interesting, educational and funny, I suddenly have a terrible urge to go on a road trip! Love lighthouses, the Rose Blanche one is one of the coolest I’ve seen and I’m a huge moose freak, so you’re my favorite awesome person of the day, lol. 😀

Leave a comment