Nine Days of Newfoundland – Day 1

Posted: June 24, 2013 in Newfoundland, Photography, RV, Tourism, Travel
Tags: , , , , , ,

I figured it was time to stop bubbling away about how cool Newfoundland is and get down to the business of chronicling our adventure. So here goes:

Map

Nine Days of Newfoundland – Day 1

Newfoundland is the island bit of the easternmost province of Canada. It is a world apart, not only geographically, but in every other way I can think of.

Getting there requires taking a six-hour ferry ride. And it ain’t cheap! If you’re travelling with an RV, they measure you from nose to stern, car and trailer, then they ding you $12.00 for every foot of space you take up on their boat! And that’s not counting the people charges of forty-odd dollars each. It’s a painful experience, but it’s the only way you’ll get your RV to The Rock.

DSC_0121R

DSC_0123R

All goods and etceteras are transported on the ferry too. If you think this sounds as though it just might jack the grocery prices up a tad, you’d be thinkin’ right, amigo!

DSC_0156R

The ferry pulled into port at point A on that really awesome (right?) map up there that I slaved over for days (I’m soooo not a map person), a place called Port aux Basques, or sometimes Channel-Port aux Basques (or Port O’Bask if you’re Irish), Newfoundland.

DSC_0299R

DSC_0066R

Observations:

Geography: Rock and water

Vegetation: Not so much

Architecture: Clinging for dear life to the rock

We lumbered up the road a ways and made camp for the first night at a lovely spot called, um…the Grand Codroy RV Park (Whew! Β Good thing I had that written down, eh?)(Point B on our lovely map up there…), which offered warm Newfie hospitality among its other amenities (free firewood!). It was just a stopover for the night on our way up the coast, but we felt at home there.

Bob’s other wife, Shari, has a thing for signs, so you may see a few salted in here and there.

DSC_0220R

Comments
  1. rlogan1155 says:

    Is that price both ways on the ferry? I think I’ll fly and stay in a hotel. It wouldn’t be much more.
    Ruth from At Home on the Road

  2. Wonderful pics and commentary. Sure glad I live in Florida…..; }

  3. I just love your humor. Pretty amazing for a Canadian, eh?

    Bruce

  4. tkmorin says:

    Okay, you’re going tired of me repeating myself, but here goes: Very funny. Fantastic post! Thank you for the smiles! πŸ™‚

  5. DouglasMB says:

    I love the pictures and the way you tell the story of your travels… I think if I ever win the lotto I am going to force you to travel with me when I visit other countries just so you can tell the story of our trip lol

Leave a comment